State Facts

Abbreviation LA
Admitted to Union April 30, 1812 (18th state)
Capital Baton Rouge
Climate Subtropical
State Seal A pelican and her nest, surrounded by the state motto "Union, Justice, Confidence" and the words "State of Louisiana".
Flag A pelican feeding its young against a field of blue. Official Colors: Blue, White, and Gold
Federal Delegation Two U.S. Senators, Six members of the U.S. House of Representatives, Eight Electoral Votes
Government State Constitution of 1974 provides for 3 branches of government: Executive, Judicial, and Legislative. The Executive Branch is headed by the governor who is elected for a four year term. The Judicial branch is headed by the Louisiana Supreme Court. The Legislative branch consists of 39 State Senators and 105 State Representatives. All are elected for four year terms.
Motto Union, Justice, Confidence
Nickname Pelican State
Political Subdivisions 64 parishes (analogous to counties in other states)
Population 4,533,372 (2010 Census estimate)
State Bird Eastern Brown Pelican
State Dog Catahoula Leopard Dog
State Flower Magnolia.
State Wildflower: Louisiana Iris
State Insect Honey Bee
State Songs "Give Me Louisiana" (Doralise Fontane)
"You Are My Sunshine" (Jimmie Davis)
Second State Song: "State March Song" (Jimmie Davis)
State Environmental Song: "Gifts of the Earth" (Frances LeBeau)
State Tree Bald Cypress
State Reptile Alligator
State Mammal Black Bear
Musical Instrument Diatonic Accordion
Freshwater Fish White Perch
State Fossil Petrified Palmwood
State Drink Milk
State Gemstone Agate
State Fruit Strawberry